Beat the rain, in the rain?

by Sableshade

15 days so far with the cleaning crew and I’ve learned some serious things about being a stadium cleaner. People will cheer for you if you’re on their team in their own way if they you’re strong at something, devoted, or a hard worker. This is something that I guess I’m use to when it comes to how I follow through with any kind of work (although some work is more challenging than others). My time in college is still the hardest job I’ve had, but being a cleaner is probably the most physical job I’ve experienced.

It’s funny that my mom some time ago brought up construction work as a likely job role I could go for. Trust me though, custodian work is challenging in of itself so far, but I’m having fun. Even as this blog says, I’m more interested in anything than involves art, fine arts, or electronics – that’s where my skills are currently set. If it wasn’t for the whole “you should work outside your comfort zone” guff… I’m not sure. Maybe I would most likely still be looking for a job right now. So, at least I know what my next steps are.

Find a more beneficial job (Don’t give up!)

Find activities that will keep me writing (Because procrastination hurts.)

Don’t lose my cool; it’s rare for anyone to do that (In my city.)

Talk to my fellow gamers and active game designers (Want more work!)

Talk to friends (Need more trends!)

Follow other writers and artists (…And don’t undermine.)

(And…) Learn from kids.

 

 

 

Also, screw Soggy Nights.

Beating that rain

***********************************************************************

Life lesson time

 

It was one of my night shifts at my stadium and we were understaffed for a second time this week. Me and my coach like supervisor (I’ll just call him “Coach” in the future) worked on collecting trash bags along the seating sections of the stadium. I normally would be fine with this, but due to the smaller sizes of the group I had to push a few garbage bins known as trash gondolas along the sections and for nearly half of the night push these things through rain and sore feet up ramps and back to two trash compactors to be throw away. All of this while keeping up with the lower bowl group who had to work through the rain even harder than I did.

Now I’m making this seem simple, but imagine doing this across the size of a baseball stadium for over 5 hours for 3 days, then coming back to work to do all of this again… but in the rain and with only a fraction of your team helping you. In the end, it’s just you, your coach, and the cold embrace of mother nature spitting on your every step, trying to make you take your hours and leave in shame so that the peanuts can prevail for once.

This day will forever be known among the survivors of these Peanut Wars as Soggy Night, where every wet bag feels as heavy as a single bag of peanuts, while every wet peanut bag feels like a heavy bag of unfinished drinks. If you thought people never should waste food on a normal day, you might quit this job during Soggy Night. The weirdest part of this shift was the fact that for some reason I chose not to even leave when my job was done for the night… I tried to keep working by helping out one of the other cleaning groups above my stadium bowl with sweeping – the only job I despise at the stadium even though I thought that originally this was all a cleaner did all day.

Not every shift in a job will be easy, fun, or quick. If you can find the power to overcome daily drama, pain, or even Soggy Night, even you can rock it all day with the Cleaning Crew, or any crew in my book.

